SCFTA Perris Round 5

June 20, 2015

Photos by Janice Blunt

Captions by Jamey Blunt

One hundred and two degree heat didn't stop the one hundred seventy seven
entries that filled thirty two heat races and twenty eight main events at round five
of the S.C.F.T.A. Frequent watering kept the track moist through the heat races,
but once the sun set the moisture started coming back and lap times started dropping.
This weekend was another double header with round six taking place on Sunday.
The youth classes continue to be a fixture at Perris making for a bright future as
eight separate classes were run from 50cc to 250cc with a maximum age of sixteen.
Perris also continues to attract riders from the Road Racing fraternity as they Cross-Train.
Two time World Champion John Kocinski (who was just elected to the AMA Hall of Fame)
was also on hand (as he is at most rounds), only this night wasn't racing but was
rather just supporting the flat track community. Also at round five was sound testing
from the AMA's official, in an attempt to head off any problems before they become
troublesome. Most racers headed the "SOUND" advise in hopes the track will be left
alone as more and more property is built around the racetrack. Remember "Less Sound Equals
More Ground"!!!! Round seven will take place on Saturday night July 25th....

#19R Brad Rudy is fast becoming the one to beat in the
Vet +50 Amateur class. Rudy turned a 15.64 second lap
on his way to the win.

#17r Nick Gil had the fastest lap time of the Pros at 15.00 seconds.
He even took the lead on the last lap of the twenty lap Pro final
only to come up short on the run to the checkered flag.

#84E Colt Foster went back to back for Pro Main Event victories.
Foster posted a 15.08 second fastest lap time as he held on for the
victory by a few feet over a charging Nick Gil.

#13 Kaulin Nielsen won the newly established
and growing field of Hooligans on his H.D.

#57 Jeremy Toye is another road-racer to test
himself on the dirt oval at Perris. Toye finished fourth
in the Pro Main event and even lowered his fastest
lap time to 15.28 seconds!!!!

41 Josh Hayes the current "Super-Bike Champion"
showed up at Perris between road races and competed in
the +35 Expert and Pro classes. Hayes had a fastest lap time
of 15.42 seconds!

Freddie Edwards had to pull grill duty along with his already full duties. 

#45E Arnie Fry came through for the victory in the
Open Beginner Main Event. He lowered his best lap
time to 16.09 seconds!

#12E Paul Ott was the fastest of the +35 Expert
field. His 15.17 second lap time placed him well
within the Pro times as well!

#198 Alex Crosby posted a 15.34 second lap time on his
way to winning the Open UnClassified and Open Expert
main events.

#413 Melissa Diaz (Sure looks like Melissa Paris) won the
ever increasing Powder Puff final. Her fastest lap was 16.22

#22 Matt Spiwak was yet another double winner taking the
Men's 4-stk and Vet +35 Novice Main Events! His fastest lap
was at 16.92 seconds!

#82E Travis Petton was a double winner at round five,
capturing the Open Amateur and Bomber Expert victories.
His fastest lap came in the Bomber class at 15.22 seconds.

#12E Jeff Lessley is still sorting out the Suzuki 2-stk twin
he built. But he did drop his lap time to 15.15 seconds and won
both the Vet +50 expert main and the Senior +60 final!

#95 Tom Ferguson (TOO FAST to his friends)
won the Classic Vintage final with a fastest lap
time of  16.57 seconds on an H.D. Sprint!

#8 Skylar Schnaekberg not only won the Youth 85cc 4-stk
Novice main event, she sings a great national anthem as well.

#82 Young Travis Petton competes in several classes. At
round five he won the Youth 85cc 2-stk Am. and the 85cc
Open main events. His fastest lap turned on any of his bikes
was a 15.18 second time.

#13 Tanner Richey at 17.03 seconds was the
victor in the Youth 85cc 2-stk Beginner final.

-#36 Aidan Omelina who's new to Perris,
won the Youth 50cc 4-stk Beginner main event.

#25 Travis Horn had his dad at Perris injured (broken leg).
Still Travis pulled the trigger and won the Youth 50cc 4-stk
Am. and the 65cc Open main events. He even turned 16.95
second lap times! On a 50!

#228 Kage Tadman topped both the Youth 50cc
2-stk Am. and 50cc Open classes with a fastest lap
time of 18.39 seconds.

#12e James Ott scorched the track with a 15.18 second
lap time on his way to victory in the Youth 250cc Open class.

Pit Puppy for round five goes to Josh Hayes and Melissa Paris for their dog "HUCK".

SCTFA Perris Results Round 6

June 21, 2015

250 Youth
1.    James Ott
2.    Travis Petton
3.    Justin Hanson
4.    Alyssa Flores

50 cc 4 Stk Beginner
1.    Aidan Omelina
2.    Jasper Heathfield
3.    Gauge Modica
4.    Troy Alvarez

50cc 4 Stk Amateur

1.    Travis Horn
2.    Cole Ayers

50 cc 2 Stk Beginner

1.    Aidan Omelia

50cc 2 stk Novice

1.    Rachel Schnakenberg
50cc 2 stk Amateur
1.    Colin Petton

65 Open
1.    Travis Horn
2.    Cole Ayers
3.    Sierra Hickerson
4.    Isabella Mitchell
5.    Tanner Richey

65cc 2 Stk Beginner

1.    Colin Petton

65cc 4stk Beginner

1.    Sierra Hickerson
2.    Isabella Mitchell

85cc 2 Stk Beginner
1.    Conner Hickerson
2.    Tanner Richey
3.    Avery Modica

85cc Open

1.    Frank Flores
2.    Travis Petton
3.    Alyssa Flores
4.    Conner Hickerson
5.    Jake Mitchell

85cc 4 stk Beginner
1.    Conner Hickerson
2.    Roslyn Kay
3.    Jeremiah Krueger
4.    Jake Mitchell

85cc 2 stk Amateur

1.    Travis Petton
2.    Frank Flores
85cc 4 Stk Novice
1.    Skylar Schakenberg

Classic Vintage
1.    Tom Ferguson
2.    Joe Pape
3.    Jim Ottele

Super Senior +60
1.    Dan Kane
2.    Paul Claybaugh

Premier Senior +70
1.    Ron Moore

Open Amateur
1.    Travis Petton
2.    Jeremy Templeman
3.    Scott Hanson
4.    LJ Gronek

Powder Puff
1.    Alyssa Flores
2.    Jeanette Griggs
3.    Monica Gil
4.    Jaycee Jones
5.    Dee Kilroy

Senior Vets +50 Amateur
1.    Brad Rudy
2.    Steele Friedrich
3.    Tim Watters
4.    Rolf Greenhill
5.    Larkin Wight
6.    Bill Wright
7.    Paul Claybaugh
8.    Robert Stettler

Senior Bet’s +50 Novice
1.    Arnie Fry
2.    Ken Shilling
3.    Barney Stern
4.    Donnie Moore
5.    Danny Manthis

Vet’s +35 Amateur
1.    Rich Hanson
2.    Scott Hanson

Vets +35 Novice

1.    Matt Spiwak
2.    Donnie Moore
3.    Andrew Myers

Open UnClassified
1.    Jace Callison
2.    Alex Crosby
3.    James Ott
4.    LJ Gronek
5.    Matt Ott
6.    Jimmy Gillen

Bomber Expert
1.    Danny Perkins
2.    Jim Lundgren
3.    Joe Steffen

Mens 4 Stk
1.    Matt Spiwak
2.    Brad Rudy
3.    Paul Claybaugh

Open Beginner
1.    Arnie Fry
2.    Andy Pappas
3.    Dee Kilroy
4.    Joel Manthis
5.    David Seminaro

Bomber Novice
1.    Monty Watowa
2.    Ken Shilling
3.    Josh Mills
4.    Brian Bell

Senior Vet’s +50 Expert
1.    Jim Ottele
2.    Jim Lundgren
3.    Larry Earhart
4.    Joe Steffen

Senior Vet +35 Experts
1.    Jim Rosa
2.    Robert Bush

Open Novice
1.    Matt Spiwak
2.    Justin Hanson
3.    Matt Ott
4.    Andrew Meyers
5.    Travis Friedrich
6.    Monica Gil
7.    Jeanette Griggs
8.    Jaycee Jones
9.    Gabriel Alaverz

Open Expert
1.    Jimmy Gillen
2.    James Ott
3.    Alex Crosby

1.    John Vanderlaan
2.    Nick Gil
3.    Colt Foster
4.    Jace Callison